Morgan Balfour
Virginia Best Adams Masterclass Participant 2022

Australian soprano Morgan Balfour has been praised for her “thrilling clarity” (Sydney Morning Herald) and “impressive vocal control and dynamic sensitivity” (San Francisco Classical Voice).

With a strong affinity for early music, Morgan was the 2019 Handel Aria Competition First Prize Winner, 2021 Colorado Bach Ensemble Second Prize Winner and 2021 Kentucky Bach Audrey Rooney Vocal Competition Encouragement Award Winner. She was scheduled to perform a recital at the London Handel Festival in 2020 and is delighted to attend the Carmel Bach Festival as a Virginia Best Adams Fellow this year. Previously, Morgan has performed the roles of Cephise in Pinchgut Opera’s production of Pigmalion, and Honour in Brisbane Baroque Festival’s King Arthur.

As a concert singer and performer of oratorio, Morgan has appeared with the Australian Brandenburg Orchestra, American Bach Soloists, Madison Bach Musicians, California Bach Society, Cantata Collective, Canberra Symphony Orchestra and Sydney Philharmonia.

Morgan is currently working as a soprano chorister in the San Francisco Symphony Chorus, a position she first took up in 2018. She has also performed as an ensemble member with Jeffrey Thomas’ American Bach Choir, Richard Sparks’ Benedict XVI and Ragnar Bohlin’s Capella SF.

For the 2019/20 Season, Morgan joined the Lyric Opera of Kansas City as their Soprano Resident Artist. During this time she covered Blonde in Die Entführung aus dem Serail, Musetta in La Boheme and was scheduled to perform Mrs Grady in The Shining. Additional opera roles include the title role in Rodelinda, Meleagro in Atalanta, Pamina in Die Zauberflöte, Susanna in Le nozze di Figaro, Frasquita in Carmen, Governess in The Turn of the Screw, and Younger Alyce in Glory Denied.

Morgan holds a Master of Music Degree from the San Francisco Conservatory of Music, and a Bachelor of Music Degree from the Queensland Conservatorium of Music. She is an alumna of the Melba Opera Trust (Amelia Joscelyne Memorial Scholar), the Lisa Gasteen National Opera Program and the Hawaii Performing Arts Festival (Professional Fellow).